Chris McGaw and his epic climbs

11846606_10155905745500514_4616858983453697063_nOur good and crazy cyclist friend Chris McGaw, is off again for another of his epic rides in his trusty moth eaten Emma’s Bubble Trust t-shirt (his words not ours).

Here’s the description of the ride from the man himself:

It’s basically the East to West route from Lowestoft to Ardnamurchan Lighthouse but with a few killer hills thrown in for good measure (taken from Simon Warren’s books).

And here’s the itinerary:

Day 1 – Ness Point to Leadenham
Day 2 – Leadenham to Grains Bar via Riber (32) and Winnats Pass (33)
Day 3 – Grains Bar to St Johns Chapel via Mytholm Steeps (139), Park Rash (45) and Buttertubs Pass (49)
Day 4 – St John’s Chapel to Cumnock via Killhope Cross (185) and Mennock Pass (63)
Day 5 – Cumnock to Oban
Day 6 – Oban to Corrachadh Mòr via Bealach Feith Nan Laogh (166)
Day 7 – Corrachadh Mòr to TBC via Rest and Be Thankful (68)
Day 8 – TBC to Glasgow via Bealach Maim (163)

The numbers in brackets refer to the 10 hills taken from the book (and its sequel). You can see where they are if you like here:…

Actual cycle starts Saturday morning and all being well, I should be at the Lighthouse next Thursday afternoon (20th Aug). I then have to cycle back to Glasgow via another couple of hills to catch a train home…

A bit nervous about this one. I think I may have bitten off more than I can chew!

So everyone can you please please please give Chris a bit of a spur on and sponsor by going to his JustGiving page here.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply